SMU Film & Media Arts

SMU Film & Media Arts

The Division of Film & Media Arts is an undergraduate-only program based in the Meadows School of the Arts with nine full-time faculty, two full-time staff, and 80 majors. It offers two degrees: a 33-credit generalist B.A., and a 51-credit B.F.A. centering on media production or screenwriting. The curriculum is balanced between courses in media production (including screenwriting) and media studies. Our approach to film and media arts emphasizes the importance of understanding key critical, industrial, and aesthetic contexts, as well as the creative and technical skills necessary for production. All majors must take required courses in both areas.

SMU is an inclusive and intellectually vibrant community of teachers and scholars that values diverse research and creative agendas. We offer the rare confluence of a comprehensive global research institution and a close-knit intellectual enterprise in the liberal arts tradition. SMU offers excellent benefits including full same-sex domestic partner benefits. Explore SMU at Our beautifully shaded campus of Georgian-Revival-inspired architecture is situated in the heart of Dallas. The Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex, a culturally rich arts and global business center, is home to many universities, arts organizations and Fortune 500 corporations. Visit

Email me jobs from this employer
Get new jobs for this search by email

When you create this job alert we will email you a selection of jobs matching your criteria. Our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy apply to this service.

Other marketing communication

We'd love to send you information about jobs and services from WIHE by email.

All emails will contain a link in the footer to enable you to unsubscribe at any time.